Best VO2 Max App for Apple Watch

By Jack Wallner · October 12, 2026

Best for recovery and training guidance built around VO2 max: Athlytic. Best for a fitness age with peer comparison and a shareable card: VO2 Max Pro. Best for charts, race-time estimates and widgets: VO2 Max: Widget Notifications. Best for comparing with a large pool of other users: Health Hive. Best for a calm, read-only VO2 max view on the watch face with no account: VO2 Max & Cardio Fitness. They all read the same Apple Health estimate, so the difference is what they build on top.

How we compared. We read each app's App Store listing and pulled rating, rating count and update date on October 12, 2026. We also ran VO2 Max Pro through first launch. We did not subscribe to anything. None of these apps measures VO2 max itself. They read the estimate your Apple Watch writes to Apple Health. Disclosure: Jack Wallner makes VO2 Max & Cardio Fitness, so read its entry with that in mind.

General information, not medical advice. VO2 max estimates are broad fitness figures. Apple notes that certain conditions or medications that limit heart rate can cause an overestimate. Talk to a clinician about health concerns.

Comparison table

AppBest forPrice modelApple WatchiPadAccountRating (count)Last updated
Athlytic: Fitness & RecoveryRecovery and training guidanceFree + subscriptionYesYesNot stated4.79 (11,105)Oct 6, 2026
VO2 Max Pro: Track Fitness AgeFitness age, peer comparison and a share cardFree + one-time purchaseNot listedNot listedApple sign-in required in our test4.43 (56)Oct 12, 2026
VO2 Max: Widget NotificationsCharts, race-time and cycling estimatesFree + subscription or lifetimeYesYesNot stated3.79 (129)Oct 12, 2026
Health Hive: Fitness AgeBenchmarking against other usersFree + subscriptionNot listedYesNone required (per listing)4.6 (953)Sep 7, 2026
VO2 Max & Cardio FitnessCalm, read-only VO2 max view with no accountFree + subscription or lifetimeYesNot listedNoneNo ratings yetOct 10, 2026

Ratings and update dates are from each app's App Store listing as of October 12, 2026. Apple Watch and iPad show the devices each listing names; "Not listed" means the listing does not name them. Price models describe the structure only, because prices vary by region and change.

The apps, one by one

Athlytic: Fitness & Recovery

Athlytic is a recovery and exertion app first. Its listing describes daily Recovery from HRV and resting heart rate, Exertion scores, workout suggestions you can send to the Watch, sleep and stress views, and an Athlytic Age that uses VO2 max alongside other measures. VO2 max is one input among many, so it is not the simplest way to follow cardio fitness alone, and it has the most to learn.

VO2 Max Pro: Track Fitness Age

The listing describes a fitness age, trends over a week, month and year, comparison with others of your age and sex, a shareable Fitness Pass card, lab-result entry saved back to Apple Health, and new-reading notifications. The one-time purchase covers themes, so the data features are free. In our test it asked for Apple sign-in on first launch with no skip option, before showing any number.

VO2 Max: Widget Notifications

The listing describes a dashboard with rolling averages and a best value, a chart from one week to all time, an age and sex bracket explainer, race-time and cycling power estimates, a widget showcase and an Apple Watch app with every complication family. It has the most estimate tools in the set. The rating is the lowest here and the listing mentions a trial countdown, so check the free tier before relying on it.

Health Hive: Fitness Age

Health Hive compares your HRV, resting heart rate, sleep, cardio fitness and VO2 max with people of similar age and BMI and turns them into one fitness age. It says it draws on more than 65,000 anonymous users and shares only aggregated summaries. That is useful if you want to know where you sit among peers, though it asks you to share anonymous data to get it and the listing shows no Apple Watch app.

VO2 Max & Cardio Fitness

Jack Wallner's app. It shows your latest Apple Health VO2 max with its date, an improving, stable or declining trend, a personal target range, a year of history, a broad fitness-age estimate, widgets and Watch complications, all free and read-only. VO2+ adds age and sex reference bands, resting and recovery heart rate cards, comparisons and a PDF report. Limits: it cannot log lab tests, has no race-time estimates or recovery score, and has no ratings yet.

Which should you pick?

Frequently asked questions

What is the best VO2 max app for Apple Watch?

It depends on what you want. Athlytic suits recovery and training guidance, VO2 Max Pro suits a fitness age with peer comparison, and VO2 Max & Cardio Fitness is a simple read-only view of your Apple Health estimate with widgets and Watch complications.

Does the Apple Watch measure VO2 max?

Yes, it estimates it. Apple says the Watch estimates cardio fitness, also called VO2 max, from outdoor walk, run and hike workouts. A first estimate needs at least 24 hours of wearing the Watch plus several qualifying workouts.

Why does my VO2 max app show no data?

These apps read the estimate from Apple Health. If the Watch has not produced one yet, there is nothing to show. Wear the Watch and record outdoor walks, runs or hikes, and make sure the app has permission to read Cardio Fitness.

Are VO2 max estimates accurate?

They are estimates. Apple notes that conditions or medications that limit heart rate can cause an overestimate, and a lab test is the reference measurement. Use trends over time rather than a single number.

Is this comparison independent?

Jack Wallner makes VO2 Max & Cardio Fitness. Competitor entries use their public App Store listings and our own first-launch testing of VO2 Max Pro, and the listings are linked below so you can check them.

Sources