Best Journeyman Electrician Test Prep App
Best for state-by-state exam lists and a large question bank: NEC Electrical Exam by Dakota. Best for 8,000+ questions in English and Spanish plus field calculators: NEC Mastery. Best for full-length timed mock exams: Journeyman Electrician Pro. Best for drilling the code calculations with fresh problems and step-by-step working: Electrician Exam Practice 2026, the app I make. Journeyman Electrician (2025) is a simple free option, but it was last updated in January 2025.
How we compared (October 13, 2026): I read each app's US App Store listing and pulled its rating, rating count, supported devices, purchase types and last update from Apple's store data. I did not install or subscribe to the other apps, so what I say about them comes from their own listings. Electrician Exam Practice 2026's entry comes from its code and listing. Prices are left out on purpose, because they vary by region and change.
Disclosure: Jack Wallner makes Electrician Exam Practice 2026, one of the apps below, so read its entry with that in mind.
Side by side
| App | Best for | Price model | Apple Watch | iPad | Account | Rating (count) | Last updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NEC Electrical Exam by Dakota | State exam lists, 3,000+ questions, AI tutor | Free + paid upgrades | No | Yes | Not stated | 4.75 (496) | Sep 17, 2026 |
| NEC Mastery | Bilingual question bank, calculators, hour log | Free + paid question bank | No | Yes | Not stated | 4.82 (165) | Sep 30, 2026 |
| Journeyman Electrician Pro | Full timed mock exams and a diagnostic | Free + subscription | No | Yes | Not stated | 4.88 (76) | Sep 9, 2026 |
| Journeyman Electrician (2025) | Simple free practice and mock tests | Free + remove-ads purchase | No | Yes | Not stated | 4.46 (299) | Jan 16, 2025 |
| Electrician Exam Practice 2026 | Generated calculation drills with numbered working | Free + subscription or lifetime | No | Yes | None | No ratings yet | Sep 26, 2026 |
Ratings and counts are US App Store figures as of October 13, 2026. Apple Watch and iPad show the devices each listing supports. "Not stated" means the listing does not say whether an account is needed. Price models describe the structure only.
The apps, one by one
NEC Electrical Exam by Dakota
The most-rated exam prep app in this group. It lists over 3,000 questions across six exam sections, walkthroughs with NEC references, practice by topic, study stats and an AI tutor for step-by-step help. Its listing names the exams it targets state by state, from journeyman and master to contractor licenses. The trade-off: the listing does not name the NEC edition its questions follow, and the AI tutor and full access are paid.
NEC Mastery
NEC Mastery says it is built on the 2023 NEC with 2024 updates and lists 8,000+ questions with explanations, in English and Spanish. Beyond practice it adds 20 calculators, an offline quick reference for ampacity, conduit fill and motor tables, and a work-hour log with PDF export. The trade-off: the full question bank is a paid purchase, and with this much in one app there is a lot to find your way around.
Journeyman Electrician Pro
Built around exam simulation: an 80-question, 240-minute timed exam, a 40-question quick exam, five 60-question practice tests, a 25-question diagnostic and a passing-probability gauge. The free tier includes selected subtopics, three practice tests, daily challenges, flashcards and the diagnostic. The trade-offs: its listing says hundreds of questions rather than thousands, it does not name an NEC edition, and the upgrade is subscription only, including a weekly plan.
Journeyman Electrician (2025)
A straightforward question bank with practice by category, mock tests, test history and bookmarks. It is free, with a purchase to remove ads. The trade-off: it was last updated on January 16, 2025, and the listing does not say which NEC edition the questions use, so check answers against your book.
Electrician Exam Practice 2026 (my app)
This app drills the parts of the exam that cost time: finding the right article fast, and the calculations (ampacity derating, overcurrent sizing, conduit and box fill, voltage drop, grounding conductors, motors and the dwelling service calculation). Calculation problems are generated, so they do not repeat, every wrong choice matches one common mistake, and a miss shows numbered steps. It uses 2023 NEC values and asks for your state to show which edition it examines on. Three rooms and eight field calculators are free. Its limits: it is not a full exam blueprint (special occupancies, hazardous locations and low-voltage chapters are not covered), it has a 90-second timed challenge instead of a full mock exam, and it has no ratings yet.
Which should you pick?
- You want questions aimed at your state's named exam: NEC Electrical Exam by Dakota.
- You want the biggest bank, Spanish, or calculators you will keep using on the job: NEC Mastery.
- You want to sit full timed practice exams before test day: Journeyman Electrician Pro.
- You only want a free question bank to flip through: Journeyman Electrician (2025), checked against your code book.
- You keep losing points on derating, fill and load calculations: Electrician Exam Practice 2026.
- Many candidates pair a question bank with a calculation drill. Nothing stops you from using two.
Drill the calculations
Electrician Exam Practice 2026 generates ampacity, fill, voltage drop and load problems with the working shown on every miss. Three rooms and eight field calculators are free.
See the appFrequently asked questions
What is the best free journeyman electrician practice app?
All five are free to download. Journeyman Electrician Pro gives three practice tests, daily challenges, flashcards and a diagnostic free. Electrician Exam Practice 2026 keeps three practice rooms and eight field calculators free. Dakota offers free practice questions, and Journeyman Electrician (2025) is free with a purchase to remove ads.
Which NEC edition do these apps use?
NEC Mastery says it is built on the 2023 NEC with 2024 updates, and Electrician Exam Practice 2026 uses 2023 NEC values. The Dakota, Journeyman Electrician Pro and Journeyman Electrician (2025) listings do not name an edition. Check which edition your state examines on before you trust any number.
Which app has full timed practice exams?
Journeyman Electrician Pro lists an 80-question, 240-minute timed exam and a 40-question quick exam. NEC Mastery and Journeyman Electrician (2025) list mock tests. Electrician Exam Practice 2026 has a 90-second timed challenge rather than a full mock exam.
Can a practice app replace the NEC code book?
No. Exams are written against the code book your state adopted, and you need to find answers in it quickly. Electrician Exam Practice 2026 cites article numbers instead of reproducing code text, so you still need the book.
Is this comparison independent?
Jack Wallner makes Electrician Exam Practice 2026. Competitor entries come from their public App Store listings, which are linked below so you can check them.
Sources
- NEC Electrical Exam by Dakota on the App Store
- NEC Mastery on the App Store
- Journeyman Electrician Pro on the App Store
- Journeyman Electrician (2025) on the App Store
- Electrician Exam Practice 2026 on the App Store
Electrician Exam Practice 2026 is an independent app and is not affiliated with the NFPA or with any app compared here. App details were checked on October 13, 2026 and may change.